采访舒伦克美国分部新主席

采访舒伦克美国分部新主席

一个极好的挑战


采访舒伦克美国分部新主席


Schaller先生,您在美国已经生活和工作了14年。七月份您上任美国颜料分支的主席。 您是如何来到舒伦克的呢?

我是纽伦堡人,1992年9月在我家乡的舒伦克开始做商务培训。我那时候是看到一个本地报纸的小广告而应征的。

现在您却对员工和业务负起了责任。

是的。这是一个极好的挑战。 颜料分支的美国分部有17名员工。我们主要负责BU涂覆和着色剂比如墨水及图形艺术。但是金属材质颜料的部分也以经成为我们一个重要的组成部分。

舒伦克驻扎在美国东北的一个小城

Ashland 属于马萨诸塞州,有大概16000个居民, 位于波士顿西部大半个小时车程。 这个区域是典型的新英格兰风格: 阔叶林, 美丽的印第安纳夏日,许多湖泊和白色的教堂, 就像导游书里描述得那样。

就是说重来一遍您还是会选美国?

我们对当时的决定一直很满意。 我在2000年3月的时候就已经作为产品经理去了美国: 这个机会,在那里工作和生活,对我虽说是挑战,但也无法拒绝。让我和我夫人Daniela 相对轻松的是我那时候还没有孩子。我儿子Luca (12)和 Leon(6)都是在美国出生的。

适应很困难吗?

去国外,即使是像美国这样的国家,会很快感觉到很多都不一样,必须先锻炼适应。但是迷人之处正是每天都有新的东西。我很享受这个。

美国市场不同于德国市场,难点在哪里呢?

我们的三个主要竞争对手已经占据市场很长时间了。 因此对于相对新入市的玩家并不是那么容易站稳脚跟。尽管如此,我们还是按照我们的座右铭来做: 切我们感兴趣的那块蛋糕! 另外我们非常注重为我们的客户提供超值的服务。 只有如此我们才可以超越竞争对手。

您认为未来最大的机遇在哪里?

我们对于扩展高质量VMP产品的业务很乐观。对镀铬效果的兴趣和需求无论在印刷还是涂覆领域都有增长。

您如何以一个美国人的视角经历了2008年的危机呢?

2008年我们算是相当幸运的度过了。业务却在2009年显著下滑。2010年我们可以对此进行弥补。以后就一直处于增长中。

什么是您在美国职业上的最大挑战?

对于我作为销售员就是和美国客户打交道。他们对服务的期待很高。样品或是订单最好是第二天就能搞定。另外我感受到了对于外来供应商的一开始的反对态度。这和我在亚洲的经历正好相反,那里非常欢迎欧洲来的供应商。

就算是您的工作听起来很累人,希望您还有自由时间的活动。

因为我一如既往常因公务外出,在自由时间我主要是陪我的家人。

还有一个假设性的问题:假如您有机会进行时间穿越,您会选择那一年呢?

19世纪的后半段。 当时正是工业革命的高潮,一些现在不可或缺的东西如灯泡,电话和汽车得以发明。 我觉得这个时期一定很精彩。而且如果我已经在那儿了,也许会去看看舒伦克公司的成立。

采访由Monika Meyer主持


Your career at SCHLENK

Join our dedicated, dynamic team. We look forward to receiving your application, preferably via E-Mail.

继续阅读...

Apprenticeship at SCHLENK

How about a trainee position at SCHLENK? There are many ways to get started in 2017.

继续阅读...

Job openings

Both beginners and seasoned professionals who wish to have an impact and develop their careers at a high level are a good fit for us.

继续阅读...

Thomas Schaller (President of the US branch of SCHLENK)

„A great challenge.“


Interview with the new President of the US branch of SCHLENK


Mr. Schaller, you have been living and working in the United States for 14 years. In June you became president of the US branch of the Pigment Sector. How did you come by SCHLENK?

I was born in Nuremberg and started my training as an industrial clerk at Schlenk in my hometown in September 1992. I had applied for the job that was advertised in the local newspaper.

Well now you carry responsibility for employees and business divisions.

Yes, this is a great challenge. The US branch of the pigment sector has 17 employees and we mostly take care of the divisions BU Coatings and Colorants as well as Inks and Graphic Arts. But also the pigments in the division metallic material have become an important part for us.

Schlenk has settled in a small town in the northeast of the United States.

Ashland is located in Massachusetts and has about 16,000 inhabitants. It is about half an hour west of Boston. The area here is typical of New England: deciduous forests, which feature a wonderful Indian Summer, many lakes and white churches - just like shown in a guide.

So you would opt for the US again?

We are still happy with our decision. I went to the United States in March 2000 to work as a product manager: The chance to be able to live and work there was a challenge I could not refuse. I didn‘t have children yet, which made it easier for me and my girlfriend at the time, who is now my wife, Daniela. My sons Luca, 12, and Leon, 6, are both born in the United States.

Was the adjustment difficult?

If you go abroad, even in a country like America, you quickly realize that many things are very different and you have to learn the ropes. However, this has the appeal that you can experience something new every day: I enjoy that a lot.

The American market is different to the German market. What difficulties have you come across?

Our three major competitors have been well established for a long time. Therefore, it is not always easy to assure your position as a relatively new player. However, we operate according to the motto: We cut the pieces of the pie that are most interesting for us! We also place great emphasis on supporting our customers with exceptional service. That way we can distance ourselves from our competitors.

Where do you see your biggest opportunities for the future?

We are confident that we can expand our business with our very high quality VMP products. The need for and interest in chrome-like effects are increasing both in print and the lacquer sector.

How did you experience the year of the financial crisis 2008 from an American perspective?

2008 we survived reasaonably unscathed, but in 2009, our business dropped significantly. In 2010, we were able to make up for that and have since returned to growth.

What was the biggest professional challenge for you in the US?

For me as a seller it was dealing with American customers. They have very high expectations when it comes to service. Samples or orders should be best done the next day. Also, I initially felt a negative attitude towards a non-local supplier. This was in stark contrast to my experience in Asia, where European suppliers are received with open arms.

Even though your job sounds like a lot of work, hopefully you still find time for leisure activities?

I‘m still very much on the go for the company, I try to spend my free time mainly with my family.

At last a purely hypothetical question: Suppose you had the chance to step into a time machine. What year would you choose to travel to?

To the second half of the 19th century. At that time, the industrial revolution was in full swing and there were indispensable inventions like the light bulb, the telephone and the automobile. I imagine this time was very exciting. And being in that time, I would have passed by SCHLENK when the company was founded.

Interview by Monika Meyer


Your career at SCHLENK

Join our dedicated, dynamic team. We look forward to receiving your application, preferably via E-Mail.

More

Apprenticeship at SCHLENK

How about a trainee position at SCHLENK? There are many ways to get started in 2017.

More

Job openings

Both beginners and seasoned professionals who wish to have an impact and develop their careers at a high level are a good fit for us.

More